Recherche sur le site
140 résultats trouvés avec une recherche vide
- Sentierpatrimoine
The Heritage Path Download the city map traduction Discover the history of Belpech through the heritage path : a 1.5 km walk displaying 11 descriptive signs in the village. Continue your trip in the hamlets and explore their history… Don’t miss out on Belpech’s “Natural Side”… its hilly landscape overlooking mountains, preserved fauna and flora and refreshing rivers. Be seduced by arts and crafts and sample local products from local farmers, craftsmen and shops. Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Welcome to Belpech ! Let us guide you through the historic heritage of Belpech walking by the streets and following the descriptive signs in the village. Click on your choice to see more informations : 2 The 1791 Great Fire 3 The Grain Market 4 Saint-Sernin Church 5 The Curti House 6 Garnac, the lost village 7 The Castelas 8 The lower Castel 9 St James' Hospice 10 The new cemetery 11 The Oratory Square The Hamlet of Marty The Hamlet of Tresmèzes The Hamlet of La Devèze La Bastide de Couloumat This heritage path was developed in partnership with the Tourist Office “At the heart of the Cathar hills” and with the Historical Society of Belpech and Garnaguès.
- 500 | belpech
Time Out This page isn’t available right now. But we’re working on a fix, ASAP. Try again soon. Go Back
- Le grand incendie de 1791
Le grand incendie de 1791 Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant Vous êtes au cœur du « quartier du pont » dont l'ancienne porte médiévale se trouvait à l'extrémité du pont qui enjambe la Vixiège, vers la Place de l'Oratoire. Un terrible incendie s'est déclaré dans cette rue, le 16 septembre 1791 à 8h du matin. Le lin et la paille, stockés dans l'arrière-boutique du cordonnier Jean Marcel, prirent feu. « Le fòc ! I a le fòc en çò de Joan Marcel le pegòt » « Le feu ! Il y a le feu chez Jean Marcel le cordonnier » Très vite, les rafales de cers propagèrent l'incendie au quartier tout entier, jusqu'à la Clastre (actuelle place Mauléon). On dit que les flammes auraient « léché le couvert de la halle ». Les maisons, les boutiques, les ateliers, les remises, les jardins... plus du tiers du village fut détruit. À 10h du soir le feu était enfin maîtrisé, mais les braises ont couvé pendant près de trois mois... En tout, 97 maisons ont brûlé, dont l'hôpital-hospice Saint Jacques qui se tenait à cet endroit. Le terrain de l’hospice resta vacant pendant un demi siècle, puis la mairie y fut bâtie en 1845. Vue depuis le pont sur la Vixiège, début du XXe siècle Sceau du consulat de Belpech - XVIe siècle Les consuls Dès le Moyen-âge, comme souvent dans le Midi de la France, Belpech a été administré par des consuls, chargés de l'administration géné- rale du village et du règlement des conflits liés au commerce. Au nombre de huit, dont deux nobles, ils exerçaient leur fonction pendant un an. Nommés par leurs prédécesseurs pendant la semaine des Rameaux, ils recevaient l'assentiment du seigneur de Belpech et prêtaient serment en l'église, pour Pâques. À partir du XVII e siècle, leur nombre fut réduit à quatre : un par quartier. La Révolution institua pour leur succéder, dès 1792, les conseillers munici- paux de la commune.... Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- La place de l'Oratoire
La place de l'Oratoire Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant Un des premiers « faubourgs » de Belpech, cette esplanade triangulaire eut tout d'abord un usage religieux par la présence d'un oratoire en son centre. Une croix de pierre entièrement peinte, datant du XIVe siècle, était abritée sous une coupole. Surnommée « coucouroutjo » par la population, cette coupole fut détruite au début XIXe. La croix fut déplacée plusieurs fois, notamment au bout du pont après son élargissement. Elle retint l'attention de Viollet-le-Duc et fut restaurée en 1900 par le sculpteur Berty. Afin de la préserver elle fut à nouveau déplacée en 1978 et abritée à l'intérieur de l'église. Aujourd'hui, face à vous, sur un socle triangulaire se trouve une Croix de la Passion portant une inscription INRI, une lance, un porte-éponge et, à mi-hauteur du pied, deux bras en porte-cierges. Elle est ornée de 3 fleurs d'immortelles en fer. Cette croix classée date de la fin du XVe siècle, on suppose que les artisans qui forgèrent la grille de la chapelle du Saint-Sépulcre, dans l'église, en furent aussi les auteurs. Au fil du temps, l'usage commercial et artisanal de la place se développa. On sait qu'aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles se trouvaient là : une auberge (« le Logis Sainte Marie »), un moulin pastelier, un lavoir... puis de nombreux métiers s’y établirent : forgeron, bourrelier...En 1855, cette esplanade devint le foirail des bœufs, ce qui entraîna un des déplacements de la croix d’origine. Belpech, place de l'Oratoire La commémoration de 2015 Le Monument aux Morts Le Monument aux Morts fut édifié par souscription publique et subvention du Conseil municipal entre 1917 et 1921. Exécuté dans l'atelier Albert David, statuaire de Paris, le soldat de pierre blanche est placé sur un socle de blocs granitiques. Les plaques nominatives sont fixées par des rivets marqués du sceau de Belpech. Il fut inauguré le 6 mai 1923 par Maurice Marty, en présence des familles des soldats disparus. La stèle est entourée d'une grille carrée. À chaque angle se trouve un obus de 300 mm. Chaque côté est orné d'une mosaïque au sol mentionnant chacune une bataille : Yser,la Marne, la Somme et Verdun. À l'occasion du centenaire de la Grande Guerre, une com- mémoration exceptionnelle a été organisée par la Société d'Histoire de Belpech et du Garnaguès. Le 11 novembre 2015, souvenir de l'armistice, par des chants, des citations, des évocations, des jeux de lumière, des bruits de bombes et des jets de mille feux... nous avons évoqué, revécu l'abîme des combats, la tuerie de Verdun, le cou- rage des braves défiant chaque jour l'angoisse et la peur de mourir. Cette commémoration restera longtemps gravée dans les mémoires et dans les cœurs. Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- La maison Curti
The Curti House Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next William Curti, the White Cardinal : born in Belpech, close to Pope Benedict XII (Jacques Fournier, from Saverdun), he reached the highest positions in the papal court, where he served under three popes. Born in the late XIIIth century, he studied in the Bernardins’ college in Paris. He returned to the Boulbonne abbey where he became abbot in 1316. In 1319, he was made doctor of theology by John XXII. Around 1335, Benedict XII put him in charge of reforming the Cistercian order and appointed him bishop of Nîmes, then Albi. He was made cardinal in 1338 and moved to Avignon with the pope. Clement VI and Innocent VI also trusted him : in 1342, he was sent to Lombardy to appease some troubles, then became camerlingo of the Sacred College of Cardinals and appointed bishop of Tusculum (Frascati, Italy). Upon his death, in 1361, his body was returned to the Boulbonne Abbey where he was entombed in a chapel specially erected for this purpose. The abbey was ransacked in 1567 and the tombs desecrated. In 1753, bones supposed to belong to the counts of Foix, the cardinal of Curti and several other abbots were collected into a chest, which was placed before the master altar at the new Boulbonne, in Trèmesaigues. He is still remembered in the papal palace in Avignon. The turret in which he lived is still nicknamed “White Cardinal” after the Cistercian dress the prelate wore until his death. Guillaume Curti Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Coat of arms of the Curti family The house with 3 shells Notice this house built of dressed stones, dating from the XIVth century. The original building consisted of two parts, with three windows. The right part was left to ruin and was pulled down in 1904 while the window was transferred to the parochial church’s sacristy. The other two windows were restored. Clearly Belpech’s oldest stone house, it belongs to the municipality since 1965. An escutcheon bearing three scallops, the Curti family’s coat of arms, is set above the main door. According to tradition, this house served as a hostel for pilgrims on the Way of St James. Download the city map Previous Next
- Garnac, le village disparu
Garnac, le village disparu Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant Située à un kilomètre environ à l'ouest de Belpech, Garnac était une localité gallo-romaine ou gauloise qui donna son nom à toute la région... avant de dis- paraître totalement. Au Xe siècle, la contrée était connue sous le nom de ministerium Agarnagense. À la fin du XIVe siècle, le pays de Garnac ou Garnaguès était devenu un vaste archiprêtré aux contours irrégu- liers s'étendant de Cintegabelle à Fanjeaux et Mirepoix. La localisation exacte de cette première implantation urbaine n’est malheureusement pas connue avec certitude. Le très ancien toponyme Pech Vièlh semble en prolonger les traces sur la colline voisine, où l'on peut penser qu'elle se situait. Vers le milieu du XIe siècle une nouvelle agglomération, qui allait devenir le Belpech actuel, fut fondée. Elle prit place au pied de la colline appelée pour la circonstance Pech Novèl ou Pech de Bèl, au sommet de laquelle avait été bâti un château fort. On ne sait pas encore toutes les raisons de cette fondation, ni celles de l’abandon du village originel. Il ne subsiste désormais de Garnac que la mention « cimetière de Garnac» sur le cadastre, et l’appellation de Garnaguès, encore en usage aujourd’hui... Sarcophage wisigothique, cimetière de Garnac, Ve siècle Photographie Auguste Armengaud Pégau - Cimetière de Garnac - Ve siècle Le cimetière de Garnac L'appellation « cimetière de Garnac » subsiste toujours sur le cadastre, à l'emplacement de l'ancien cimetière de Belpech. Des sarcophages du Ve siècle y ont été découverts par des cultivateurs, vers 1825. Dans l'un des sarcophages, a été trouvé un vase appelé « pégau » (nom d'origine wisigothique) datant probablement du XII -XIII siècle. Un second pégau a été découvert vers 1980, par un promeneur, dans le secteur de cet ancien cimetière. Bien qu'incomplet, il daterait de la même époque. Ils montrent que le site était encore utilisé, 7 siècles au moins après sa mise en place, et alors que Garnac avait déjà cédé la place à Belpech... Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- L’Hôpital Saint-Jacques
L’Hôpital Saint-Jacques Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant En 1361, dans son testament, le Cardinal Curti recommande de construire un hôpital pour y recevoir les étrangers, soigner et nourrir les pauvres. Il a cédé une fortune colos- sale pour y contribuer et a mandaté l'abbé de Boulbonne pour mettre en œuvre cette volonté. Quatre fermes appartenaient à l'hôpital : Saint-Quirc, Ferran, Jauze et la métairie de Coumet. Les produits du fermage servaient à nourrir les pensionnaires ou étaient vendus pour assurer les recettes de l'établissement. Initialement situé dans le quartier du pont, l'hôpital fut ravagé par le grand incendie de 1791 et temporairement établi dans une mai- son prêtée par l'évêque de Mirepoix, rue de l'Evêché à côté de la place de l'Eglise. L’établissement fut reconstruit sur son emplace- ment actuel, hors les murs, à partir de 1821. En 1841, trois sœurs y assurent l'instruction des enfants et le soin des pauvres. Dix ans plus tard, cinq religieuses créent une « salle d'asile » destinée à prendre en charge l'éducation des plus petits (3-6 ans) : l'ancêtre de la maternelle ! En 1868, un « ouvroir » est créé pour assurer l'éducation des jeu- nes filles et les former aux travaux d'aiguille. Au fil du temps, il deviendra l'école des filles, publique et communale, qui s’installera dans ses locaux actuels en 1954. L'ancien hospice devient alors une « maison de retraite ». Aujourd'hui, rénové et agrandi pour répondre aux normes de sécu- rité, d'accessibilité et de confort pour les personnes âgées, c'est un EHPAD qui dispose de 85 lits, dont 16 en secteur spécialisé. Choeur de la Chapelle de l'hôpital La chapelle de l'hopital La Chapelle de l'hôpital est placée sous la vocation de saint Jacques le Majeur et bénite le 25 juillet 1824 par l'abbé Aragou. En 1840, la chapelle s'agrandit : on y crée des vitraux, un autel en marbre y est installé. Un siècle et demi plus tard, vétuste, elles sera détruite lors des travaux de transformation de l’EHPAD. Elle était décorée de statues qui ont été conservées à l'église de Belpech. Vitrail de la chapelle Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- Hameau de Marty
The Hamlet of Marty Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next In the middle ages, the first known name for this hamlet, located at the end of the bridge over the Hers, was Castecapou. This toponym suggests the site held a defensive watch post. It is believed the site was occupied much earlier on as Neolithic polished stone axes have been found by the river. The tenant farm established there took the name of Marty in the XVIIth century, from the patronym of the tenant, Jean Marty, holding the farm for the De Douanes family. As time went by, several other families established themselves there and the Hamlet of Marty was founded. We know the bridge over the Hers, with its four arches, did not exist in 1355: to cross the river, it was necessary to use the fording of "Mourgailh", set upstream from the Hers and Vixiège confluence. Important repair works on the bridge took place in 1748, then in 1923-1924, when the bridge was enlarged from 3.75 m to 6 m over a length of 84 m. The bridge of Marty Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation The millstream and old mill dam The Bosquet Mill Walk on the bridge and notice the Rivesaltes Mill (today known as the Bosquet mill).It can be traced back to the XIIIth century. It was a flour mill for commoners and lords. The original mill dam, built in wood, was destroyed by a large flood in 1841. Ten years later, a new dam was built upstream out of stones and bricks. On the above postcard, the original wooden posts holding the medieval dam can still be seen near the millstream. In 1934, the place became the "Minoterie du Bosquet". The flour mill operated until 1964. During the XXth century, the mill saw many uses beside flour production: a saw mill and a power station, the latter providing public lighting for the village from 1898 until 1925. In 1981, the owner installed a new power station with two turbines. Download the city map Previous Next
- Le Castelas
The Castelas Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next On the hill overlooking the village, the remains of a square keep can be seen from afar. These ruins are the last visible signs of what used to be a powerful medieval fortress, surrounded by walls almost 200 m in length. At its foot were built a chapel and, in the XVIIth century, a seminary of which a few walls can still be seen… The Tower Built in the XIth century (~1034 – 1085) by the Fort family, this tower, known as the “Capcastel” in the XIIIth century, was protected by a fortified wall 1.70 m thick. A portico was set before the main dwelling, which was distinct from the keep. In time, the village was built underneath the castle as the inhabitant moved from Garnac to this new, safer, location. Five streets still lead to this strategically overlooking site: they were used by villagers to reach the castle in case of an attack. Renamed “Castelas” (a ruined Castle in Oc language), texts already mention the site as a ruin in 1540. It was probably abandoned as early as the XIVth century… The Rosary Chapel In 1344, a chapel consecrated to saint Marie-Magdalen was founded by Ramon Sirven de Villefort. It became a votive chapel in 1682 and was renamed Our-Lady-of-the-Rosary. Built on the south part of the Hill, it probably measured 20 m in length and 11 m in width. Above it was a simple triangular bell-gable with three openings. Towards the choir (to the east), was the sacristy, a vaulted room with two large gothic windows. The founder and serving fathers were buried in this chapel. Today, the sacristy is the only visible remain. The Seminary On June 26 1682, Pierre de la Broue, bishop of Mirepoix, set up a seminary. The community of Belpech then gave the Our-Lady-of-the-Rosary chapel to the Oblates of Mary congregation (also known as the Bonalistes). Priests had several missions: to form young clerics, appoint a regent for the schools, visit the sick, teach catechism, confess the faithful… A cloister sheltering the young clerks’ cells linked the sacristy with two buildings housing the classroom, the library and the priests’ accommodations. There also was a garden, for flowers or vegetables. In 1752, the seminary was turned to the Congregation of the Mission, also known as Vincentians or Lazarites. Master Lacroix, the last Father, died in 1773 and was buried in the chapel. Photograph of the Castellas, from “La baronnie archiépiscopale de Belpech Garnaguès” Edouard Laffont (1914) What about today? The abandoned buildings were taken down bit by bit by locals, who used the stones for building their houses. The dismantling accelerated after the great fire that raged in the village in 1791, due to the need to rebuild as quickly as possible. Religious items from the chapel were dispersed, sold, melted… Only remains the small statue of Our-Lady-of-the-Rosary. The Castelas is now a private site. A non-profit organization, set up in 2014, works at saving the site and showcasing it. Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Statue of Our-Lady-of-the-Rosary The worshipping of Our-Lady-of-the-Rosary In 1630, Belpech was hit by a terrible plague epidemic. A procession climbing the hillslope was dedicated to Our-Lady to pray for her protection. During the second plague outbreak, in 1654, a second procession took place, and a third in 1782 during a sweating sickness outbreak. The cult remained despite the dismantling of the chapel. The small wood-and-stucco statue of the Virgin Mary holding baby Jesus in her arms was found in the ruins and relocated to the chapel of the Holy Sepulchre in the church. The statue was renovated first in pink gown and white mantle, and gilded over in 1930. Nowadays called Notre-Dame-de-Beaupuy, the statue is displayed in a dedicated chapel in the church that was created in 1962 and refurbished in 2012. Numerous ex-voto, expressing gratitude for a healing, a safe return from war… attest to its popularity. As for the lost chapel, it wasn’t totally forgotten: from 1897, the Abbot Danguien organized annual processions with oriflammes and canticles on the Castelas’ slopes. The tradition was interrupted several times, but carried on for ten years in the 1960s and again in 2011 and 2012. Download the city map Previous Next
- Le nouveau cimetière
Le nouveau cimetière Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant Au moment de la fondation de l'agglomération primitive de Belpech-Garnaguès, les habitants continuèrent à ensevelir leurs morts au cimetière de Garnac. Puis, ils recherchèrent un endroit moins éloigné. On peut faire remonter l'implantation actuelle au XIIe siècle. Une chapelle y fut construite, sous le vocable de Saint-Michel hors les Murs, succédant à l'église Saint-Michel primitive dont subsiste le clocher-mur, au cœur du village, devant la nouvelle église Saint-Sernin. Remarquez les trois voûtes en arc brisé, sur votre droite en entrant dans le cimetière. Cette construction abritait des enfeus en pierre, contemporains de la chapelle. Cette chapelle abrite de nombreuses pierres tomba- les. Depuis la Révolution les curés, religieux et reli- gieuses de Belpech y sont inhumés. Le premier d'entre eux fut Jean Salafa, prêtre réfractaire, inhumé au centre de la chapelle entre les deux portes latérales (1811). Précédemment, ils étaient ensevelis dans l'église Saint-Sernin. Le cimetière renfermait un grand nombre de croix tombales d'époque gothique. Elles ont été mises en sûreté dans la chapelle du Saint-Sépulcre de l'église paroissiale. La croix blanche Un peu plus loin, en partant vers Gaudiès et l'Ariège, vous trouverez « La croix blanche » qui marquait l'emplacement d'une rogation. La croix actuelle est un réemploi d'une croix du cimetière placée au carrefour dans les années 1920 en remplacement de la croix initiale, disparue. Des fouilles archéologiques, réalisées en 2001 à cet endroit, ont permis la mise au jour d'un important atelier de tuiliers médiéval ou post-médiéval, comprenant plusieurs fours. L'étude réalisée permet de penser que ce four daterait détails du XIVe au XVIe siècle et serait contemporain de la construction de l'église Saint-Sernin. Four de tuillier, XIV-XVIe siècles Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- Le château "d'en bas"
The lower Castel Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next You are facing a series of four notable houses, built by the Mauléon family, lords of Belpech, around 1567. At the time, they made up a unique stately ensemble known as “the manor”. The owner compiled an inventory in 1798, from which we learn the building consisted of “two floors above a ground floor, that a large stone staircase (destroyed in 1855) lead to the great hall and other rooms: visiting lounge, anteroom, and small lounge lit by a window overlooking the courtyard…”. The second floor contained four bedrooms and the attic. The lounge was decorated with Bergamo tapestries, unfortunately already badly damaged by 1799. On the ground floor were found two kitchens and a storage room, the servant room and an access to the store and the cellar. In those days, the stables and a garden were located in Tower Street (rue de la Tour), opposite the manor. In 1812, the site was split into four parts that were sold separately; one was bought by the parish and still contains the clergy house. The building still contains three impressive XVIIth century stucco fireplaces, works of art from the great Bezier plaster sculptor Jean Sabatier. Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Moses bringing forth the water from the rock of Horeb Sculpted fireplace by Jean Sabatier, circa 1660-1670 Remarkable houses Notice several of the oldest houses in the village, which can be seen around the market hall square, besides the lower castle: At the corner of rue René Cassin, the “Amigues House” (from the name of the XXth century owner) is also known as the “Oak House” from the 9 oak pillars supporting its three floors. This XVIth century half-timber-framed house with jettied upper storeys is grade II-listed. One of the beams is decorated with an engraving of an unknown woman, called the “Woman with pearly hairnet”. Edouard Laffont Take notice of this other half-timber-framed house standing across from the church portal, which is known as the “Laffont House” (from the owner’s name). Edouard Laffont, one of the family’s descendants, was the first local historian. He wrote “La baronnie archiépiscopale de Belpech". Download the city map Previous Next
- La halle au grains
The Grain Market Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next The original medieval market-hall, first mentioned in a manuscript dating from the reign of François Ier, was made of wood. The offices of the communal house “coumuno” where the consuls ruled, and a prison, were located on the first floor. It was reached through stairs which started from the grain-measure platform. The grain measures that you can see beside the church date from 1826. After the run-down communal offices were torn down, in 1829, the 11 wooden pillars were kept and a new roof was installed. However, the idea of a “New Iron Market Hall” came up in 1860. The derelict, old wooden market-hall was destroyed and a new “Baltard-style” market hall was built in 1898. The project for a second “poultry” market, in the church yard, was never implemented. The wooden market hall, late XIXth century In the XIXth century, Belpech boasted six major fairs: swine, (barry of Tournefeuille), sheep (barry of tourrou), large livestock, poultry and eggs, ducks and geese (Oratoire plaza). Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Belpech tramway station Tramway in Belpech In the early XXth century, the Piège yielded grain and feeding hay. It provided for the eastern part of the département, where vines were the only crop. But roads were bad, and carting goods was long and expensive. Therefore good were delivered to Mazères and Saverdun (in the Ariège) and transited via Toulouse before being shipped to Narbonne. That way, they could travel 140 km before reaching Castelnaudary! In order to solve the problem, a tramway line linking Belpech, Salles-sur-l’Hers and Castelnaudary was opened in 1903 by the Compagnie des Tramways à Vapeur du Département de l’Aude (Aude’s Steam Tramway Company). The line operated until 1933. The Coopérative de l’Hers, Vixiège et Razès (Hers, Vixiège and Razès Cooperative), founded in 1934, was set up in the yard and offices of the abandonned station. Download the city map Previous Next


