Recherche sur le site
140 résultats trouvés avec une recherche vide
- L’Hôpital Saint-Jacques
St James' Hospice Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next In 1361, the Cardinal Curti requested in his will that a hospice was built to take care of strangers, heal and feed the poor. He left colossal wealth and mandated the abbot of Boulbonne to achieve his wish. Four farms belonged to the hospice : Saint-Quirc, Ferran, Jauze and the Coumet tenancy. Tenancy products were used to feed residents or were sold to guarantee revenue for the institution. Originally located in the bridge quarter, the hospice was completely destroyed during the great fire of 1791 and was temporarily relocated within a house in Bishopric Street (rue de l'Evêché), next to the Church square, loaned by the bishop of Mirepoix. The facility was rebuilt on its current location, outside the walls, starting in 1821. In 1841, three sisters were in charge of teaching children and taking care of the poor. Ten years later, five nuns created a "shelter room", designed for looking after the little ones (3 to 6 years-old): a kindergarten ancestor! In 1868, a "sewing room" was created to educate young women and teach them needlework. This in turn would become a girl school, communal and open to all, which relocated to its current place in 1954. The old hospice then became a "retirement home". Renovated and enlarged to conform to current safety, accessibility and comfort regulations, this EHPAD (Institution for the housing of dependent elderly people) offers 85 beds, of which 16 are earmarked for specialist care. Belpech land registry, map of the town, 1812 Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation The Choir (or quire) of the Chapel of Saint-James The hospice chapel The hospice chapel was dedicated to Saint James the Great (son of Zebedee) and consecrated on the 25th of July 1824 by abbot Aragou. In 1840, the chapel was enlarged: stained glass was put in place, a marble altar was set up. A century and a half later, the derelict building is pulled down as part of the renovation of the retirement home (EHPAD). It was decorated with statues that are now kept in the church. The stain glass of the chapel Download the city map Previous Next
- Le nouveau cimetière
The new cemetery Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next When the Belpech-Garnaguès settlement was founded, inhabitants continued to bury their dead in the Garnac cemetery. Later, they looked for a less remote site. The current location can be dated back to the XIIth century. A chapel was built, named Saint-Michel-outside-the-walls, replacing the primitive Saint-Michel church, of which the bell-gable still stands, in the heart of the village, in front of the new Saint-Sernin church. Notice the three pointed arches, to your right when entering the cemetery. This building used to hold stone crypts that were contemporary to the chapel. This chapel holds numerous tombstones. Since the Revolution, parish priests, monks and nuns of Belpech have been buried there. The first one was Jean Salafa, nonjuring priest, buried in the centre of the chapel between the side doors (1811). Before that, they were inhumed in Saint-Sernin church. The cemetery contained a large number of gothic tombstones. They were recovered and safely stored in the Holy-Sepulchre chapel of the parish church. Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation The white cross A bit further, on the way towards Gaudiès and the Ariège, you will find the "white cross", which marked the site of a rogation (or procession). The current cross is one from the cemetery which was reused and placed at the cross-road in the 1920s to replace the missing original cross. Archeological excavations carried out on that spot in 2001 uncovered a large medieval or post-medieval tile-making workshop, comprising several ovens. According to the study performed at the time, the oven could date from the XIVth to the XVIth century and be contemporary to the building of the church of Saint-Sernin. Tile-making oven, XIVth – XVIth centuries Download the city map Previous Next
- Le grand incendie de 1791
The 1791 Great Fire Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next You are in the heart of the “bridge quarter” (quartier du pont), which was closed by a great medieval door set at the end of the bridge over the Vixiège, towards the Oratory square (place de l'Oratoire). A terrible fire started in that street on December 16, 1791 at 8 o’clock in the morning. Flax and hay, stored in the back shop of the cobbler Jean Marcel, took fire. “Fire, there is a fire at Jean Marcel’s, the cobbler” Gusts of Cers (local name of the north-westerly wind) quickly spread the fire to the whole neighbourhood, up to the Clastre (currently place Mauléon). It is said that “flames licked the market hall’s roof”. Houses, shops, workshops, stores, gardens… over a third of the village was destroyed. At 10 o’clock at night, the fire was finally put out, but ambers burned for almost three months… Overall, 97 houses burned, including Saint-Jacques’ hospital. The site of the hospital remained vacant for half a century and the town hall was built there in 1845. Sight from the bridge over the Vixiège, early XXth century Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Seal of the Belpech Consulate – XVIth century Consuls From the Middle Ages, as commonplace in the Midi, Belpech was administered by Consuls, in charge of general administration of the village and ruling over business conflicts. Numbering eight, including two aristocrats, they ruled for one year. Designated by their predecessors on Palm Sunday, they were approved by the lord of Belpech and swore their oath in the church on Easter Sunday. From the XVIIth century, they were reduced to four members: on for each neighbourhood. They were replaced during the Revolution, as early as 1792, by municipal consellors. Download the city map Previous Next
- Garnac, le village disparu
Garnac, the lost village Belpech, a village to discover From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history… Previous Next Located about one kilometre west of Belpech, Garnac was a Gallo-roman or Gaul settlement that gave its name to the whole area… before disappearing completely. In the Xth century, the area was known as ministerium Agarnagense. At the end of the XIVth century, the country of Garnac, or Garnagès, had become an irregularly-shaped wide collection of parishes spreading as far out as Cintegabelle, Fanjeau and Mirepoix. Unfortunately, the exact location of this earliest settlement is not known for sure. The very old geographical designation Pech Vièlh (the old hill) could well lead to the neighbouring hill where it could have been located. Around the middle of the XIth century, a new settlement was founded, that would ultimately become the current Belpech. It was located below the newly-erected fortified castle, at the foot of the hill which became Pech Novèl (the new hill), or Pech of Bel (Bel’s hill). We don’t yet know the reason for the founding of the new settlement, or why the original village was abandoned. Wisigothic sarcophagus, Garnac cemetery, Vth century. © Auguste Armengaud Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation Pégau – Garnac cemetery – Vth century Garnac cemetery The name « garnac cemetery » still appears in the land registry where the old Belpech cemetery was located. Around 1825, sarcophagi dating from the Vth century were discovered by farmers. In one of the sarcophagi, a “pégau” vase, of a very common type in the area during the XI-XIIIth centuries, was found. A second pégau was found around 1980 by a rambler, in the vicinity of the ancient cemetery. Although incomplete, it seems to be of a similar age. These artifacts indicate that the site was still in use at least six centuries after its inception, while Garnac had already laid way to Belpech. Download the city map Previous Next
- Le Castelas
Le Castelas Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant On remarque de loin, sur la butte dominant le village, les vestiges d’un donjon carré. Ces ruines sont le dernier indice visible de la présence au Moyen Âge d’une puissante forte- resse, entourée alors de près de 200 mètres de remparts. À ses pieds, s’élevèrent une chapelle puis, au XVIIe siècle, un séminaire, aujourd’hui disparus... L'évolution du site LaTour Bâtie au XIe siècle (~1034 – 1085) par la famille Fort, cette tour, surnommée au XIIIe siècle « Capcastel », était protégée par un mur de défense d’une épaisseur de 1m70. Distincte du donjon, l'habitation principale était précédée d'un portique. Au fil du temps, le village s’est construit au pied du château, les habitants délaissant l’agglomération primitive de Garnac pour ce nouveau site plus sûr. Cinq rues conver- gent encore vers ce point culminant stratégique : elles permettaient aux villageois de remonter vers le château en cas d’attaque. Renommé « Castelas » (Château en ruine en langue d’oc), les textes le mentionnent comme déjà ruiné en 1540. Il fut sans doute abandonné dès le XIVe siècle... La Chapelle du Rosaire En 1344, une chapelle dédiée à sainte Marie-Madeleine fut fondée par Ramond Sirven de Villefort. Elle devint votive en 1682 sous le nom de Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire. Edifiée au midi du Pech, elle devait mesurer 20 m de long sur 11 mètres de large. Au- dessus se dressait un clocher-mur simple en triangle, percé de trois niches. Du côté du choeur (à l'est) un local voûté avec deux larges ouvertures gothiques constituait la sacristie. Le fondateur et les prêtres desservants ont été inhumés dans cette chapelle. Aujourd'hui, ne subsistent que les ruines de la sacristie. Le Séminaire Le 26 juin 1682, Pierre de la Broue, évêque de Mirepoix, fonde un séminaire. La com- munauté de Belpech cède alors la chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire à la congréga- tion des Oblats de Marie (ou Bonalistes). Les prêtres avaient de nombreuses missions : instruire les jeunes clercs de la ville, préposer un régent pour les « escolles », visiter les malades, faire le catéchisme, confesser les fidèles... Un cloître, abritant les cellules destinées aux jeunes clercs, reliait la sacristie avec deux maisons où se trouvaient la salle de classe, la bibliothèque et le logement des prêtres. On y trouvait également un jardin d'agrément ou potager. En 1752, le séminaire fusionna avec l'ordre des Lazaristes. Le dernier supérieur, maître Lacroix, décédé en 1773, fut enterré dans la chapelle. Photographie du Castelas, tirée de « La baronnie archiépiscopale de Belpech Garnaguès » d’EdouardLaffont(1914). Situation des trois corps de bâtiment et restitution hypothétique des volumes. Et aujourd'hui? Les bâtiments, abandonnés, furent démontés par les habitants, pierre par pierre, au fur et à mesure de la construction du village. Le démantèlement du site du Castelas s’est accéléré suite à l’incendie qui a dévasté Belpech en 1791 et à la nécessité de reconstruire en toute hâte. Les objets de culte de la chapelle ont été dispersés, vendus, fondus... seule subsiste la petite statue de Notre Dame du Rosaire. Aujourd’hui, le site du Castelas est une propriété privée. Une association a vu le jour en 2014 pour assurer sa sauvegarde et sa mise en valeur. Statue de Notre Dame du Rosaire Le culte voué à Notre Dame du Rosaire En 1630, Belpech fut frappé par une terrible épidémie de peste. Une procession gravissant les pentes du Castelas fut consacrée à Notre Dame, pour implorer sa protection. Lors de la seconde épidémie de peste, en 1654, une nouvelle procession eut lieu, ainsi qu’en 1782, lors d’une épidémie de suette. Après le démantèlement de la chapelle, le culte se maintint. La petite statue de bois et stuc représentant la Vierge Marie tenant dans ses bras l'enfant Jésus, retrouvée dans les ruines, fut déposée dans la chapelle du Saint- Sépulcre à l’église. Restaurée une première fois, en robe rose et manteau blanc, elle fut dorée en 1930. Aujourd’hui communément appelée Notre Dame de Beaupuy, la statue est exposée dans la chapelle qui lui est dédiée au sein de l’église, créée en 1962, puis rénovée en 2012. Les nombreux Ex Votos présents dans cette chapelle, exprimant les remerciements pour guérison, retour de guerre... témoignent de sa popularité. Quant à la chapelle disparue, elle ne fut pas totalement délaissée : à partir de 1897, l'abbé Danguien organisa des processions annuelles avec oriflammes et cantiques sur les pentes du Castelas. Interrompue à plusieurs reprises, cette tradition reprit pendant 10 ans dans les années 1960, puis à nouveau en 2011 et 2012. Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- Hameau de Tresmèzes
Hameau de Tresmèzes Belpech, un village à découvrir ! D'hier à aujourd'hui, toute une histoire … Précédent Suivant Le site est d’occupation ancienne : l’existence du village ecclésial est attestée à la fin du XIIe siècle, Raimond Fort, seigneur de Belpech, donnant à l'abbaye de Boulbonne une condamine située dans le termini de l'église Saint-Jean de Tresmèzes (à l’époque Saint Jean de Tréméses). D’autre part, dans la plaine de la Vixiège, face au hameau, on trouve le domaine de Canens, site ecclésial attesté dès 1185, devenu par la suite grange cistercienne et qui appartenait à l'abbaye de Vajal en 1195. On peut penser que l'origine de Tresmèzes viendrait de l'occitan : mes (rocher en forme de renflement) et tres (trois). En effet, le village se situe sur une éminence rocheuse longitudinale entourée de trois renflements de faible hauteur. La ligne de crête voisine (qui va de Certe à Marquet) occupe une position dominante par rapport au village et marquait la limite de l'ancienne baronnie de Belpech-Garnaguès. Elle est aujourd'hui la limite départementale et vous offre une vue exceptionnelle sur le hameau de Tresmèzes. La Pêtre, panorama Croix du XVIIe siècle Cette croix en fer forgé, simple, aux extrémités fleurdelisées, est datée de 1652. Elle aurait servi de station aux Rogations mais était primitivement dressée au carrefour de Mengaud, sur l'ancienne route diocésaine de Belpech à Mirepoix et fut installée ici en 1990. Remarquez les inscriptions gravées au burin : un oiseau sur un arbre, INRI, et plusieurs monogrammes. Les tranches sont elles-mêmes décorées de bâtons rompus à deux traits parallèles. Derrière vous, nichée au cœur du hameau, se cache une petite église et son cimetière attenant. Remarquez le détail sculpté du cloché mur : un visage- boule et une date, 1910. Église de Tresmèzes, détail Télécharger la carte Précédent Suivant
- Sentierpatrimoine
The Heritage Path Welcome to Belpech ! Let us guide you through the historic heritage of Belpech walking by the streets and following the descriptive signs in the village. Click on your choice to see more informations : This heritage path was developed in partnership with the Tourist Office “At the heart of the Cathar hills” and with the Historical Society of Belpech and Garnaguès. 2 The 1791 Great Fire 3 The Grain Market 4 Saint-Sernin Church 5 The Curti House 6 Garnac, the lost village 7 The Castelas 8 The lower Castel 9 St James' Hospice 10 The new cemetery 11 The Oratory Square The Hamlet of Marty The Hamlet of Tresmèzes The Hamlet of La Devèze La Bastide de Couloumat Download the city map traduction Discover the history of Belpech through the heritage path : a 1.5 km walk displaying 11 descriptive signs in the village. Continue your trip in the hamlets and explore their history… Don’t miss out on Belpech’s “Natural Side”… its hilly landscape overlooking mountains, preserved fauna and flora and refreshing rivers. Be seduced by arts and crafts and sample local products from local farmers, craftsmen and shops.
- 404 | belpech
There’s Nothing Here... We can’t find the page you’re looking for. Check the URL, or head back home. Go Home


