Belpech, a village to discover
From yesteryears to nowadays, what a history…
Thanks to L. and T. Guillosson for translation
Yet another old site: The ecclesial village is known since the end of the XIIth century, when Raymond Fort, Lord of Belpech gave a piece of common land located around the Church of Saint John in Tresmèzes to the abbey of Boulbonne. In the Vixiège valley, opposite the hamlet is the Canens estate, an ecclesial site known since 1185 and later converted to a Cistercian barn which belonged to the Abbey of Vajal in 1195.
One can think the name of Tresmèzes comes from the Occitan: mes (a bulbous rock) and tres (three). The village is indeed located atop a long rocky outcrop surrounded by three low rises. The neighboring ridge (going from Certes to Marquet) holds a dominant position over the village and marked the border of the Belpech-Garnaguès barony. It is now the limit between the Aude and Ariège Départements and provides a magnificent viewpoint of the hamlet and the Pyrénées.
XVIIth century cross
This simple wrought iron cross, with "fleurs de lys" at the end of the bars, dates from 1652. It could have been used as a Rogation procession stage, but was originally set at the Mengaud crossing, on the ancient Belpech-Mirepoix diocesan road and was moved to its current location in 1990. Notice the chiseled engravings: a bird on a tree, INRI and several monograms. The sides are decorated with chevrons.
Behind you, hidden in the heart of the hamlet are a small church and its cemetery. Notice the sculpted round face and a date, 1910, on the bell-gable.
Tresmèzes church, detail